Nanostructures and Condensed Matter Research

Dr. Mario Borunda's research interest include nanostructured quantum systems and their many-body physics (quantum dots and quantum wires), spintronics, quantum transport in semiconductors and graphene, magnetic properties of nanostructures, and solid-state quantum information. He is also interest in several aspects of many-body theory (density functional theory, exact diagonalization, and configuration-interaction schemes).

Dr. Derek Meyer's group specializes in realizing novel states of matter through atomic layer engineering. We focus on systems exhibiting intriguing phenomena such as superconductivity, colossal magnetoresistance, and topological phases.

Dr. David McIlroy’s group studies the electronic, optical and growth of one-dimensional nanostructures. In addition, they study catalytic reactions at surfaces and molecular absorption. Please visit his research page for more details.

The group led by Dr. John Mintmire continues studies of single- and multi-walled nanotubes and other nanostructures using density functional theory.

Dr. Andrew Yost's group explores different areas including: Multiferroic Interfaces: investigating the interfaces of ferroelectric and magnetic thin films with a goal of understanding magneto-electric switching and spin tunnel junction phenomena; Photovoltaics: Combining inorganic and organic materials to create hybrid photovoltaic systems for renewable energy applications. Specifically quantum dots, organic thin films, and organic ferroelectrics; 2-D Materials for High Data Egress: investigating novel 2-D materials such as dichalcogenide and trichalcogenide materials and field effect transistor devices with applications in spintronics and terahertz communication;Disease Treatment: investigating the interaction of fullerenes, proteins and other disease markers on different substrates for applications in cancer treatments and disease detection.



Related Facilities/Groups