CAS faculty to lead Physics Prize Committee

Dr. Kaladi Babu, Regents Professor of Physics, has been appointed by the American Physical Society to lead the selection committee for the J.J. Sakurai Prize in Theoretical Particle Physics.

He will serve as the Vice Chair of the Committee this year, which will consist of prominent physicists Zoltan Ligeti (Chair, Berkeley), Lisa Randall (Harvard), Nima Arkani-Hamed (Princeton IAS) and Carlos Wagner (Chicago). After serving a year as the Vice Chair, Babu will become the Chair of the Committee next year. The J.J. Sakurai Prize is the highest recognition awarded by the American Physical Society in the field of theoretical particle physics. Eight previous recipients of this award have gone on to win the Nobel Prize in physics.