Four-Year Scholarships for Students Majoring in Physics
Providing up to $3,000 Annual Stipends

The Department of Physics at Oklahoma State University invites applications for the Daniel S. Stevens, the Earl A. Lafon, and the Paul A. Westhaus Physics Scholarships. The initial awards for the Stevens and Lafon Physics Scholarships can be made annually to outstanding incoming students majoring in Physics. Both scholarships award between $2,000 - $3,000 per year and are renewable for up to four years. The Westhaus Physics Scholarship awards $500 per year for four years. Recipients are expected to maintain an overall GPA at OSU of 3.0, and to maintain full-time student status at OSU with Physics as the primary major. The Physics Scholarship recipients will also be eligible for additional awards through the Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid, such as the Oklahoma State Regents Scholarships and University Presidential Scholarships. As with all Physics majors, the recipients will have the opportunity to participate in the Freshman Research Scholars program. Students participating in this program will be guided by a Physics faculty mentor while working on a research project, and receive an additional stipend.


Incoming Freshmen applying for Stevens, Lafon, and Westhaus scholarships should provide:

  • A completed Scholarship Application Form for Incoming Freshmen (PDF).
  • An up-to-date transcript of high school grades.
  • ACT/SAT scores.
  • Two letters of reference from high school mathematics and science teachers, counselors, and/or administrators (These should be mailed by each referee.)
  • An essay by the applicant focusing on his/her interests and plans, and including hobbies and extra curricular activities.
  • A list of awards and/or achievements.
  • Other evidence of interest and aptitude for the study of Physics.


Current OSU Students applying for Stevens, Lafon, and Westhaus scholarships should provide:


Finalists for the Physics Scholarships will be chosen on the basis of their academic achievements and potential for pursuing an undergraduate degree in Physics. Application review will begin in mid February, please submit applications in a timely manner. The Physics Scholarship recipients will be recognized at the Physics Awards Banquet in April.


Please send application materials and request that letters of reference be sent to:


The Physics Scholarship Committee
c/o Professor John W. Mintmire
Department of Physics
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078



Other Scholarship Opportunities